Flashforge IFS: bundles, compatibility and consumables

IFS stands for Intelligent Filament System. It is the four-color module Flashforge ships with the AD5X printer. Three questions matter before buying: whether the module is sold on its own, whether it fits an Adventurer 5M, and which spools it actually takes. This page answers those questions from Flashforge documentation only: the AD5X accessories list, the AD5X product page and the Orca-Flashforge printing guide. It does not replace checking the exact bundle your retailer offers.

The short answer

According to the Flashforge product page, IFS is a four-color module included with the AD5X as standard, described as fully integrated, with no external feeder box. The official FAQ states that it is not compatible with the AD5M and AD5M Pro and that an AD5M cannot be converted into an AD5X. The accessories list names the IFS module, mounting plate, connection cable, 4-in-1 guide tube and one spool of HS PLA. Listed filaments are PLA, PETG, PLA-CF, PETG-CF and TPU 64D-75D, with TPU 95A recommended for single-color jobs. The slicer refuses materials with widely different temperatures.

What Flashforge means by IFS

IFS is short for Intelligent Filament System. In Flashforge's documentation it refers to the four-color module on the AD5X, listed as the "4-Color Module (IFS)" in the accessories sheet. The product page stresses one point: IFS ships as a standard feature, described as fully integrated into the printer, with no external feeder box or add-on required. The accessories list places the module and its mounting plate in the box, to be installed at unboxing. The sources consulted document that inclusion and the incompatibility with the AD5M and AD5M Pro; they say nothing about a standalone sale.

The module's job is spelled out clearly. It manages filament switching during loading, unloading and printing, and it handles automatic feeding when you load a spool. The product page adds a relay function: when you print a single-color job and one spool runs out, the printer switches to the next spool. IFS supports a maximum of four colors, and the Orca-Flashforge guide notes that you can therefore add at most four filaments in the slicer.

In terms of footprint, the page describes four spools arranged side by side, which Flashforge says reduces storage space. If you want the vocabulary before comparing systems, the multicolor buying guide covers the main families.

Which printer can actually run the module

If you already own one of the earlier machines, the first question is practical: can you fit IFS to an Adventurer 5M or 5M Pro? The FAQ on the AD5X product page gives a flat no. The new IFS system is not compatible with the older AD5M and AD5M Pro models. The same FAQ states that an AD5M cannot be converted into an AD5X, because they are distinct models with different specifications.

The same FAQ adds that the mainboards of the Adventurer 5M and the AD5X are not interchangeable, since the interface definitions changed between versions. Among the AD5X upgrades, the page cites an upgraded extruder cutter that enables the automatic feeding and retraction the four-color module relies on, plus an extruder temperature raised to 300°C. Flashforge does not spell out, in these sources, the exact reason IFS is incompatible with the earlier generation; the FAQ's flat no is what you can rely on.

In practice, if you want IFS, the available documentation points to one machine only: the AD5X. The Flashforge AD5X page covers the rest of the printer, and the AD5X vs Adventurer 5M Pro comparison helps you decide whether multicolor justifies choosing the newer model.

What ships in the box according to the official list

Flashforge's accessories list for the AD5X describes thirteen items. On the multicolor side you get the four-color IFS module, a mounting plate that secures it to the printer, an IFS connection cable for communication with the mainboard, a cable clip to hold that cable, and a 4-in-1 guide tube that routes filament into the extruder. The spool holder features a reverse rewinding mechanism intended to prevent tangling during loading and unloading.

The starter consumable is a single spool of HS PLA, the brand's high-speed filament. The list does not state its weight or color. Tools include diagonal pliers for filament changes, grease for lead screws and rails, glue for the PEI sheet, an unclogging pin, an Allen wrench and a Phillips screwdriver.

This list documents the standard box. It does not describe regional bundles or retailer packages that add extra filament. Before you buy, ask for the exact package contents and machine version, and compare them against this list.

Spools the AD5X spec sheet lists as supported

The AD5X specification table lists the supported filaments: PETG, PLA, TPU 95A, TPU 64D to 75D, PLA-CF and PETG-CF. It adds an important caveat: TPU 95A is recommended for single-color printing, while TPU 64D is promoted for flexible multicolor parts. If your project depends on flexible filament in several colors, check the exact shore hardness on the spool, because the line falls between those two grades.

Other useful figures sit in the same table: extruder up to 300°C, bed up to 110°C, a 0.4 mm nozzle by default with 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm options. The page also displays the label "Auto 4kg filament refill" without explaining what the figure covers; the switch to the next spool in single-color mode is described separately. It says nothing about the maximum spool size the holder accepts or about cardboard and reusable spools.

The material list does not guarantee every brand or formulation. For comparison with another system, our TPU for Bambu AMS page covers that platform's own restrictions; it does not establish any IFS compatibility. For the AD5X, use Flashforge's stated grades and limits for your exact reference.

Slicer rules that limit what you can combine

The Orca-Flashforge guide for the AD5X imposes a constraint the filament list does not show. When slicing a multicolor model, the temperature difference between the filaments must not be too large, or slicing fails with an error. The example given is explicit: PLA and ABS cannot be sliced together. In practice, plan multicolor jobs around filaments with close temperatures, such as several colors of one material; the guide gives no further list of accepted pairings beyond that rule.

When you send the file, you map each color in the project to a physical channel on the printer. The Enable IFS option is checked by default and must stay checked for multicolor printing. A channel whose loaded filament type does not match the type configured in the sliced file cannot be selected, and neither can an empty channel. Multicolor models also do not support batch file sending.

The guide notes that you can import an already painted 3MF project, then reselect the AD5X as the printer and pick filament types and colors. The listed compatible slicers are Orca-Flashforge and Orca Slicer. If you are coming from another machine, the OrcaSlicer page covers the basics shared by both programs.

Spare parts, accessories and what to budget for

The AD5X accessories menu on Flashforge's site names an enclosure kit, a nozzle assembly, a PEI textured build plate, an extruder assembly and a touch screen assembly. These references are given without dimensions or cross-compatibility with other models. A replacement 4-in-1 tube appears in a customer review quoted on the product page but not in that menu, so confirm availability before counting on it.

The product page checked on October 20, 2026 lists a twelve-month printer warranty and three months for extruder parts. It describes printer shipments from local warehouses and accessories from China, with separate packages for mixed orders. Check the terms applicable to your country, retailer and order; this description does not establish delivery times for every offer.

For budgeting, think in line items: the machine with IFS included, extra spools to use all four channels, an optional enclosure kit if you aim at sensitive materials, and a small reserve for a nozzle. The startup budget tool helps you total that without forgetting filament drying and storage, which the AD5X product page does not cover.

Flashforge IFS: what the sources say and what to verify

PointWhat Flashforge documentation statesWhat to check before buying
Compatible printerIFS included as standard with the AD5X, installed at unboxingExact machine version on offer
Adventurer 5M and 5M ProNot compatible, no conversion to AD5XDo not buy IFS expecting to add it
Multicolor items in the boxIFS module, mounting plate, cable, clip, 4-in-1 tubeRetailer or regional bundle contents
Included filamentOne spool of HS PLAWeight and color, not stated
Listed filamentsPLA, PETG, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, TPU 64D-75D, TPU 95A single-colorExact TPU hardness, spool quality
Slicing combinationsLimited temperature gap, PLA plus ABS refusedProfiles of all four filaments in Orca-Flashforge
WarrantyTwelve months printer, three months extruder partsLocal retailer terms
Flashforge AD5X, manufacturer image

Flashforge AD5X

220 × 220 × 220 mm

A built-in IFS multicolor system with no external accessory, a nozzle advertised up to 300°C, a bed up to 110°C, and a travel speed advertised at 600 mm/s per Flashforge.

The chassis stays open despite the 300°C nozzle; the exact box contents (included spools, spare nozzles) aren't detailed on the manufacturer's listing.

Specifications and seller

Frequently asked questions

Is the Flashforge IFS sold separately?

The AD5X product page presents it as a standard, included module with no external feeder box or add-on to buy. The sources consulted mention neither a standalone sale nor an add-on kit for another machine, and do not rule either out. If a retailer lists a module on its own, ask which exact printer it fits.

Can I fit IFS to an Adventurer 5M Pro?

No. The official FAQ states that the IFS system is not compatible with the AD5M and AD5M Pro. Flashforge explains that the mainboards differ and that an AD5M cannot be converted into an AD5X.

Which filaments does IFS accept?

The AD5X spec sheet lists PLA, PETG, PLA-CF, PETG-CF and TPU 64D to 75D, with TPU 95A recommended for single-color printing. It does not guarantee every brand or formulation. The slicer also requires the four spools to have similar temperatures.

Can I mix PLA and PETG in one part?

The Orca-Flashforge guide only allows filaments with close temperatures and cites PLA plus ABS as a refused pairing. It does not explicitly rule on PLA plus PETG. Run a test slice: the software throws an error if it judges the gap too large.

How many colors does IFS handle?

Four at most, according to the slicer guide and the product page. In Orca-Flashforge you add up to four filaments, then map each color to a channel loaded with the matching material.

What is in the AD5X box for multicolor?

The official list names the IFS module, its mounting plate, the connection cable, a cable clip and the 4-in-1 guide tube, plus one spool of HS PLA. Bundles with extra filament depend on the retailer.

Sources and limits

  • Accessories List for AD5X | Flashforge
  • Flashforge AD5X | Flashforge
  • Print via Orca-Flashforge | Flashforge Wiki

We organize manufacturer and community documentation; we have not measured these products ourselves. The manual for your exact model takes precedence over general guidance.

Keep exploring

A clearer shortlist starts with your projects.

Use the free buying checklist and budget worksheet before comparing offers.

Get the free starter kit