High-speed PETG: interpreting speed and flow claims
High-speed PETG sheets often lead with maximum speeds. To interpret them, distinguish linear speed from volumetric flow: flow depends in part on layer height and line width. This page uses the Polymaker PETG documents to show what they state, what they omit and which conditions to record before comparing figures.
The short answer
Polymaker lists up to 300 mm/s for its PETG without giving a maximum volumetric flow in mm³/s. Its product page claims nearly doubled speeds with a high-flow nozzle but specifies neither the model nor the comparison conditions. The TDS bases its settings on a 0.4 mm nozzle. When comparing setups, also record temperature, layer height and line width: speed alone guarantees neither flow nor results on your printer.
Linear speed and volumetric flow are not the same number
A speed in millimeters per second describes toolhead movement. Volumetric flow is the volume of material extruded per unit time; for a given path, it varies with speed, layer height and line width. Two setups at the same speed can therefore call for different flow rates. The Polymaker documents cited here give neither a maximum flow in mm³/s nor the capacity of a specific hotend: speed alone cannot establish a flow ceiling.
Polymaker's product page lists its PETG at up to 300 mm/s. That figure is a maximum linear speed, not a guaranteed volumetric flow. The page does not state which layer height or line width goes with that maximum, and the technical data sheet (TDS) gives no flow figure in cubic millimeters per second at all. Reading 300 mm/s as a flow promise is an extrapolation the documents do not support. This guide shows you how to read these numbers for what they are and how to check them against the conditions that are actually documented: nozzle diameter, temperature and cooling. For the material basics, start with the PETG page.
What the Polymaker product page and TDS actually state
According to the Polymaker product page, the PETG is described as a high-speed filament with a newly updated formula, a printing temperature of 240 to 260 °C, a bed temperature of 60 to 70 °C and speeds up to 300 mm/s. The same page says that pairing it with a high-flow nozzle unlocks nearly double the recommended printing speeds. Read that sentence carefully: it names no figure for that nozzle, no specific nozzle model and no layer height.
The V1.0 TDS repeats the 240-260 °C nozzle range and the 60-70 °C plate range, then adds a cooling fan at 20 to 60 percent, retraction of 1 to 3 mm at 20 to 40 mm/s, no enclosure needed, and a footnote stating these conditions are based on a 0.4 mm nozzle and may vary with other diameters. The document calls the material a cost-effective, high-flow filament. It also lists a melt index of 8.8 g/10 min measured at 210 °C under a 2.16 kg load. That value characterizes the resin in a lab test whose conditions are nothing like a moving hotend, so it does not convert into a printing flow rate. Keep the test temperature and load with this measurement when comparing sheets.
Compare only under matching nozzle conditions
The TDS ties its recommended settings to a 0.4 mm nozzle. Another diameter alone does not tell you the actual line width and layer height selected in the slicer. Record all three parameters separately. Two claims in mm/s still measure speed, but comparing them does not necessarily describe the same amount of extruded material or the same conditions. A nozzle called high-flow also needs an exact identity before comparing setups.
When comparing two fast PETG filaments, record the published conditions: nozzle diameter and type, layer height, line width and temperature. If a sheet omits one, record the gap instead of filling it with a guess. The Polymaker TDS says its settings are based on a 0.4 mm nozzle and may vary with diameter. The product page links a high-flow nozzle with higher recommended speeds but does not explain melting capacity or give a transferable figure. The ceiling of a particular setup therefore has to be checked separately on that machine and profile. The nozzle guide covers nozzle diameter selection.
Temperature ranges only make sense alongside speed
Polymaker publishes a 240 to 260 °C range but does not state which temperature accompanies the 300 mm/s maximum. The temperature range and speed figure appear together; their exact pairing is not given. Treat speed and temperature as settings to verify on the relevant profile, without inferring that the top of the range guarantees higher flow.
One detail in the TDS makes the gap concrete. The mechanical test specimens were printed at 240 °C with the bed at 80 °C, the cooling fan off and 100 percent infill. Those conditions differ from the everyday recommendations of a 60 to 70 °C plate and 20 to 60 percent fan. The listed mechanical properties were therefore obtained at one specific temperature and cooling setting, and nothing in the document says they hold at the advertised maximum speed. The TDS disclaimer states plainly that actual values may vary significantly with printing conditions, which is exactly the caveat to carry into any flow comparison.
Product page, TDS and profiles: watch for version gaps
The product page mentions an updated formula and the TDS is labeled V1.0 without explicitly mentioning that update. These two documents cannot establish that the TDS is outdated or describes another formula. Record the title, version and date where supplied, then check their correspondence with the intended spool. A missing date or formula identifier must remain missing information rather than a reconstructed chronology. A version number by itself does not place one document before a particular product change.
The product page recommends drying at 60 °C for six hours if the material has absorbed moisture, whereas the TDS gives 55 °C for six hours. Preserve that discrepancy with its source rather than choosing an average or declaring the instructions interchangeable. The page offers profiles whose settings should be examined before use; their contents are not verified here. The TDS strongly recommends PolyBox or PolyDryer Box during printing and storage. Its stated maximum absorption of 0.51% does not measure your spool. The drying guide helps prepare the setup.
Finding the real limit on your own printer
For a check on your machine, start from the applicable manufacturer profile and record nozzle diameter, temperature, layer height, line width and configured flow. A calibration print can help you observe that setup; it does not establish a universal limit for the filament. If you change the nozzle, profile or geometry, the previous result no longer serves as a like-for-like comparison. No physical test was conducted for this page.
A record can accompany the sample: machine, slicer version, profile, nozzle, spool, geometry and settings actually applied. Keep the observation separate from the requested setting; entering a value is not a measurement of achieved flow. The high-speed PLA guide covers another material whose result does not transfer to PETG. Before making a final part, also record its surface and dimensional criteria. This suggested organization does not turn a calibration part into qualification of every geometry, bridge or overhang.
Sources and limits
- Polymaker — PETG product page, settings and high-flow claim
- Polymaker — PETG technical data sheet V1.0
We organize manufacturer and community documentation; we have not measured these products ourselves. The manual for your exact model takes precedence over general guidance.
A clearer shortlist starts with your projects.
Use the free buying checklist and budget worksheet before comparing offers.