Cults vs MyMiniFactory: choosing where to buy miniature files

To choose a miniature file on Cults or MyMiniFactory, compare each listing’s announced contents, scale, supported or unsupported variants, and license. This guide applies the same checklist to three examples: Barbarian 32mm on Cults, and Seelie Archers and Lerta the Cursed on MyMiniFactory. Creator descriptions serve as references; the files were not downloaded or printed for this comparison.

The short answer

Compare specific listings, not Cults and MyMiniFactory as a whole. Seelie Archers lists five minis, five bases, supported and unsupported versions, and a Lychee project; Barbarian 32mm lists two parts, STL variants, and a Lychee project. Lerta the Cursed is described as pre-supported, but its text does not establish the full file inventory. Check package contents, scale labels, and the license for the exact listing before paying.

What the listing should say about the package

Start with the inventory published for the specific item. The Seelie Archers listing by The Dragon Trappers Lodge lists five sculpted bases and five minis, plus pre-supported and unsupported versions and a .lys file intended for editing supports in Lychee. These are the items stated on that page; they do not prove a download or the contents of files not enumerated.

The Kaios Barbarian 32mm listing names two parts (character and base), supported and unsupported STL files, a Lychee project, an OBJ viewer file, and a Read Me in its listed archive tree. The creator describes the parts as prepared for printing and painting; that is the creator’s statement, not an independent test. MyMiniFactory describes Lerta the Cursed as a pre-supported miniature. That sentence does not confirm that a raw version is missing or that the full file inventory was inspected.

Nominal scale and base size are separate labels

Seelie Archers lists “BASE SIZE: 25mm” and “SCALE: 32mm.” The Barbarian listing says “32mm Miniature Scale/25mm Base.” These are labels and values on those two listings; do not turn them into a measured figure height. For Lerta, the page text has a “32mm” tag but no base dimension in the captured description. Compare the label and base with your project instead of inferring height.

Kaios says the project can be scaled up and asks users to pay close attention to delicate areas. This gives neither a recommended scale factor nor validation after resizing. If a different size matters to you, ask the creator which versions and instructions apply, then check details and dimensions on the exact file before buying. The guide to printers for miniatures covers machine selection separately; it does not replace listing data.

Raw, pre-supported or Lychee project: what you actually get

For Seelie Archers, the creator lists pre-supported and unsupported versions plus a .lys file for easy support editing in Lychee. The Barbarian listing text enumerates supported and unsupported STL files and a Lychee project. These labels describe files on these specific listings; do not apply them to every miniature sold on either platform.

Kaios says he cannot guarantee the pre-supported version will meet expectations or the desired print quality, and points to the original files for placing supports. This is an explicit limit from that creator. Lerta’s description says “pre-supported miniature” but does not explain variants or state a result guarantee; check the listed files and terms before paying.

License: read the label on the listing, not the platform default

The Cults licenses page says each design has its own license, chosen by the creator. It describes Private Use, Commercial Use (CU), and Commercial Use–No Derivative (CU-ND), with different permissions for prints, adaptations, and digital files. Private Use is the default when a designer does not choose another license; that rule does not tell you which license was assigned to a particular listing.

The Cults Private Use summary describes private printing and sharing images, subject to its detailed conditions, including identifying the designer and linking to the model when sharing those images. It does not authorize commercial sales or file distribution. CU and CU-ND have different conditions for prints, adaptations, and attribution: read their full text if those uses matter to you. The Barbarian listing’s own license is not legible in the text reviewed, so none of those permissions is assigned to it here. Seelie Archers and Lerta display MyMiniFactory Digital File Store License / Standard Digital File Store License: check the terms associated with those listings before deciding.

Publication date and description: what the listing really shows

The listing texts consulted show these publication dates: Lerta the Cursed, December 29, 2020; Seelie Archers, March 7, 2023; Barbarian 32mm, June 22, 2026. A displayed date is a published reference, not proof of file quality or currentness. If an update matters to the purchase, look for an explicit note in the listing or ask the creator to confirm.

The Seelie listing also links to game statistics and the creator’s subscription ecosystem; that does not describe the purchased files. The Barbarian page lists a Read Me file, but the filename alone does not reveal its contents. For printing notes or an update, ask for a reply tied to the version you plan to buy and keep the listing reference.

The same checklist applied across the listings

Detail varies across the named examples: Seelie Archers enumerates quantities and variants, Barbarian lists two parts and files, while Lerta’s description names a pre-supported miniature without specifying the full file list. Seelie and Barbarian show a 25 mm base and a 32 mm scale label; Lerta shows a 32 mm tag. This comparison covers only these three pages.

Before paying, check the number of parts, variants actually promised, stated dimensions or labels, license label, and version information. A detailed listing does not guarantee print results; a short description does not prove that an unmentioned file does not exist. These checks compare available information, not the overall quality of Cults or MyMiniFactory. Before paying, write down your intended use—private printing, selling physical prints, or adapting and sharing files—and compare it with the exact license clauses. For supports, note the variants actually listed and distinguish a .lys project from an STL. If the MyMiniFactory page shows only a label, read its terms before inferring rights for printed objects. If a permission that matters to you remains unclear, ask the creator before purchase. Keep the listing URL and the license you reviewed with your receipt so you can find the version you assessed.

Pre-purchase checklist applied to three miniature listings

CriterionCults: Barbarian 32mm (Kaios)MyMiniFactory: Seelie ArchersMyMiniFactory: Lerta the Cursed
Announced package contentsCharacter/base STL, supported and unsupported files, Lychee project (.lys), OBJ, and Read Me (listing text)Five sculpted bases and five minisDescription names a pre-supported miniature; full inventory not established
Scale and base32 mm scale, 25 mm base32 mm scale, 25 mm base32mm tag only
File variantsRaw, pre-supported, Lychee project, OBJ viewer filePre-supported, unsupported, Lychee projectPre-supported is stated; this description does not establish a raw variant
Creator statement on supportsPre-supported quality explicitly not guaranteedNot stated in the descriptionNot stated in the description
LicenseLicense assigned to this file is not legible in the consulted text; verify before purchaseMyMiniFactory Digital File Store License labelMyMiniFactory Digital File Store License label
Displayed datePublished June 2026Displayed publication date: March 7, 2023Displayed publication date: December 29, 2020

Frequently asked questions

Is Cults better than MyMiniFactory for miniatures?

The examples reviewed do not support ranking the platforms. Compare the listings: Seelie Archers enumerates five minis and bases, Barbarian lists two parts and variants, while Lerta names a pre-supported miniature. Licenses and detailed information vary by file.

What does pre-supported mean for a miniature?

On the Seelie Archers and Barbarian 32mm listings, pre-supported versions are distinguished from unsupported versions. Kaios says his pre-supported version has no print-quality guarantee. Check the contents and creator statement for the listing you are considering.

What is the .lys file included with some miniatures?

The Seelie Archers listing describes the .lys file as a Lychee project for editing supports. That is the stated use for this example; check files and versions on another listing separately.

Can I sell prints of a miniature bought on Cults?

It depends on the license assigned to the design. Cults says Private Use forbids sales, while CU and CU-ND allow certain sales of prints with attribution; digital-file redistribution remains prohibited and CU-ND forbids adaptation. The license on the Barbarian listing is not legible in the consulted text, so verify before purchase or sale.

Does a 32 mm scale mean the miniature is 32 mm tall?

Those labels do not establish that. Seelie Archers shows a 32 mm scale and 25 mm base size; Barbarian shows the same values. Lerta has a 32 mm tag. To establish actual height or base geometry, ask for a specific dimension of the file you are considering.

Sources and limits

  • Cults — Model licenses
  • MyMiniFactory — Lerta the Cursed
  • MyMiniFactory — Seelie Archers
  • Cults — Barbarian 32mm, Kaios

We organize manufacturer and community documentation; we have not measured these products ourselves. The manual for your exact model takes precedence over general guidance.

Keep exploring

A clearer shortlist starts with your projects.

Use the free buying checklist and budget worksheet before comparing offers.

Get the free starter kit